Lower Phalen Creek Project - We’re Hiring!


Job Description:

The Wakan Tipi Center (WTC) Director is responsible for overseeing all aspects of fundraising, planning, partnerships, community engagement, design, construction, and operations related to the Wakan Tipi Center. The WTC Director will also ensure that LPCP’s other projects – such as daylighting Phalen Creek and community engagement for Swede Hollow Park – coordinate with WTC activities. Finally, the WTC Director will manage the connectedness of WTC within the broader community and region through partnerships, the business community, transportation, and infrastructure. This position will report to the Executive Director.

For the full application click here

Administrative assistant (part-time)

Job Description:

The Administrative Assistant is responsible for aiding the Executive Director with administrative task including, but not limited to, maintaining funders lists, managing payroll, using accounting software to track funds, donations, and grants, and generally maintaining a professional work environment.

For the full application click here

Our Staff

Screen Shot 2019-01-23 at 11.41.12 PM.png

Interim Executive Director

Screen Shot 2019-01-23 at 11.35.52 PM.png

Communications and Outreach Associate

Jim Rock (contractor) - Dakota Interpretation
Indigenous Educational Design

Jennifer Halcrow (contractor) - Development

Veronica Burt (contractor) - Community Engagement

Maggie Lorenz (contractor) - Swede Hollow Master Plan Consultant

Board of Directors

Thomas Draskovic
Lakota Language & Culture Teacher, American Indian Magnet School

Maggie Lorenz
Founder and Lead Organizer for Wakinyan Luta Oyanke

Chip Lindeke
Treasurer; Principal, Raffetry Rafferty Tollefson Lindeke Architects

Dan McGuiness
Chair; East Side Resident; Mississippi River Program; National Audubon Society (Retired)

Amin Omar
East Side Resident; Director, Horn of Africa Community

Cynthia Whiteford
Secretary; Lowertown Resident; Senior Vice President, Trust for Public Land (Retired)


American Indian Family Center

Audubon Society

Bigelow Foundation

Cansayapi Cultural Department of the Lower Sioux Indian Community

Capitol Region Watershed District

City of Saint Paul

Saint Paul City Council

Saint Paul Parks and Recreation

Saint Paul Office of the Mayor

Saint Paul Public Works

Saint Paul Planning & Economic Development Department

Dakhóta Iápi Okhódakičhiye

David Winton Bell Foundation

District 4 Dayton’s Bluff Community Council

District 5 Payne-Phalen Planning Council

District 17 Capitol River Council

DNR Metro Greenways Program

East Side Arts Council

East Side Area Business Association

East Side Freedom Library

East Side Neighborhood Development Company

Friends of the Mississippi River

Friends of Swede Hollow

Healing Place Collaborative

Hardenbergh Foundation

Historic Saint Paul

Hope Community Academy

Horn of Africa Community of USA

Indigenous Education Design

Katherine B. Andersen Fund of the Saint Paul Foundation

Lowertown Future Fund

McKnight Foundation

McNeely Foundation

Metropolitan State University

Minnesota Department of Natural Resources

Minnesota Department of Transportation

Mississippi Park Connection

National Park Service: Mississippi National River and Recreation Area

National Park Trust

Railroad Island Implementation Task Force

Ramsey County Board of Commissioners

Ramsey-Washington Metro Watershed District

Saint Paul Garden Club

Saint Paul Foundation

STAR Cultural Grant Program – City of Saint Paul

Toro Giving Program

Trust for Public Land

Xcel Foundation

Urban Roots